Our People

Akana comprises a highly diverse collection of talents, with a unique agility that enables us to adapt to unusual project needs and locations.  Our people maintain strong ties to the communities we work in and build strong relationships with the clients we serve.

Our staff of more than 60 includes civil, structural, mechanical, electrical, and environmental engineers; land use and transportation planners; chemists, biologists, and environmental scientists; construction managers, inspectors, and quality and cost control specialists; designers and technicians.  Our senior leaders, many of whom have worked together since we opened our doors in 1990, average 20+ years of experience in the business.  It’s this combination of experience, diversity, capacity, and agility that enables us to put the right people on the job, at the right time, anywhere we need to be.


Herb Fricke

Herb Fricke, PE
Chief Executive Officer/President

Tim Oliver

Tim Oliver, PE
Chief Operating Officer


Said Amali, PE, PhD
Executive VP – Special Projects


Terry Hosaka, PMP
Executive VP – Business Development

Erika Price

Erika Price, AIA
Vice President – Design Services

Jeff Faunce

Jeff Faunce, PE
Vice President – Construction Services


Bernie Egan
Chief Financial Officer

Denise Sweeden
Corporate Administrative Manager

Brittany Faulkner
Human Resources Manager

Jeff Villnow
Vice President – Planning Services

Carl Zietz

Carl Zietz, PE
QA Manager

Fares Kekhia, PE
Civil Group Manager

Dean Armstrong, PG
SW Regional Manager

Jade McDaniel
Client Service Manager

Troy Kunas
Commissioning and MEP Group Manager

Gail Rubin
Contracts and Risk Manager

Robert Sutton, PMP
Senior Construction Manager

Dave Luneke, PE
Senior Engineer

Matt Lacome, PE
Principal Structural Engineer

Paul Knox

Paul Knox, PE
Sr. Civil Engineer

Michael Corbin, AIA
Senior Architect

Lonny Macy
Tribal Planner

Rob Foster

Rob Foster, PE
Senior Resident Engineer

Kathy Odell
Accounting Manager 

Otto “OJ” LaPointe
Sr. Structural Engineer 

Heidi Yantz, LHG, RG, PG
Sr. Hydrogeologist 

Steven Matthews, AICP
Group Planning Manager  

Tara Burnham
Environmental Safety and Health Coordinator



Penny Painter
BOLI-ODOT Workforce Development